No Friends but the Mountains

No Friends but the Mountains

Description

A veteran war correspondent journeys to remote mountain communities across the globe-from Albania and Chechnya to Nepal and Colombia-to investigate why so many conflicts occur at great heights Mountainous regions are home to only ten percent of the world's population yet host a strikingly disproportionate share of the world's conflicts. Mountains provide a natural refuge for those who want to elude authority, and their remoteness has allowed archaic practices to persist well into our globalized era.

As Judith Matloff shows, the result is a combustible mix we in the lowlands cannot afford to ignore. Traveling to conflict zones across the world, she introduces us to Albanian teenagers involved in ancient blood feuds; Mexican peasants hunting down violent poppy growers; and Jihadists who have resisted the Russian military for decades. At every stop, Matloff reminds us that the drugs, terrorism, and instability cascading down the mountainside affect us all.

A work of political travel writing in the vein of Ryszard Kapuscinski and Robert Kaplan, No Friends but the Mountains is an indelible portrait of the conflicts that have unexpectedly shaped our world.

Similar Books

ISBN 10: 1438010680
ISBN 13: 9781438010687

20 Oct 2018
Ph.D. Meredith Marsh

ISBN 10: 0062315005
ISBN 13: 9780062315007

22 Apr 2014
Paulo Coelho

ISBN 10: 0062301675
ISBN 13: 9780062301673

13 Oct 2017
Thomas C. Foster

ISBN 10: 1438011695
ISBN 13: 9781438011691

08 Aug 2019
Martin Sternstein

ISBN 10: 1514639645
ISBN 13: 9781514639641

21 Jun 2015
Kate Chopin

ISBN 10: 0674976827
ISBN 13: 9780674976825

09 Mar 2018
Yascha Mounk

ISBN 10: 1784740934
ISBN 13: 9781784740931

01 Nov 2018
Lindsey Hilsum

ISBN 10: 0857525956
ISBN 13: 9780857525956

30 Oct 2018
Markus Zusak

ISBN 10: 0141369795
ISBN 13: 9780141369792

17 Mar 2016
Robin Stevens

ISBN 10: 0141369825
ISBN 13: 9780141369822

17 Mar 2016
Robin Stevens

ISBN 10: 1847948138
ISBN 13: 9781847948137

20 Sep 2018
Michael Palin

ISBN 10: 0141369760
ISBN 13: 9780141369761

17 Mar 2016
Robin Stevens