Season of Life : A Football Star, a Boy, a Journey to Manhood

Season of Life : A Football Star, a Boy, a Journey to Manhood


The bestselling inspirational book in which the author reunites with a childhood football hero, now a minister and coach, and witnesses a revelatory demonstration of the true meaning of manhood. Joe Ehrmann, a former NFL football star and volunteer coach for the Gilman high school football team, teaches his players the keys to successful defense: penetrate, pursue, punish, love. Love? A former captain of the Baltimore Colts and now an ordained minister, Ehrmann is serious about the game of football but even more serious about the purpose of life. Season of Life is his inspirational story as told by Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Jeffrey Marx, who was a ballboy for the Colts when he first met Ehrmann. Ehrmann now devotes his life to teaching young men a whole new meaning of masculinity. He teaches the boys at Gilman the precepts of his Building Men for Others program: Being a man means emphasizing relationships and having a cause bigger than yourself. It means accepting responsibility and leading courageously. It means that empathy, integrity, and living a life of service to others are more important than points on a scoreboard. Decades after he first met Ehrmann, Jeffrey Marx renewed their friendship and watched his childhood hero putting his principles into action. While chronicling a season with the Gilman Greyhounds, Marx witnessed the most extraordinary sports program he'd ever seen, where players say "I love you" to each other and coaches profess their love for their players. Off the field Marx sat with Ehrmann and absorbed life lessons that led him to reexamine his own unresolved relationship with his father. Season of Life is a book about what it means to be a man of substance and impact. It is a moving story that will resonate with athletes, coaches, parents--anyone struggling to make the right choices in life.

Similar Books

ISBN 10: 0786463988
ISBN 13: 9780786463985

15 Dec 2011
Angela Lumpkin

ISBN 10: 1439182981
ISBN 13: 9781439182987

02 Aug 2011
Joe Ehrmann

ISBN 10: 1582702446
ISBN 13: 9781582702445

01 May 2010
Vincent Staniforth

ISBN 10: 1250158613
ISBN 13: 9781250158611

11 May 2018
Jocko Willink

ISBN 10: 1785040200
ISBN 13: 9781785040207

04 May 2017
Angela Duckworth

ISBN 10: 0415749336
ISBN 13: 9780415749336

17 Feb 2015
Ian Jones

ISBN 10: 1450400515
ISBN 13: 9781450400510

15 May 2012
Rainer Martens

ISBN 10: 0078022703
ISBN 13: 9780078022708

15 Apr 2014
Jean Williams

ISBN 10: 0736051007
ISBN 13: 9780736051002

21 Dec 2006
Vern Gambetta

ISBN 10: 1414370563
ISBN 13: 9781414370569

01 Apr 2014
Todd G. Gongwer

ISBN 10: 0688123163
ISBN 13: 9780688123161

01 Jan 1996
Ken Blanchard

ISBN 10: 1414338066
ISBN 13: 9781414338064

01 Sep 2011
Nathan Whitaker